top of page
  • Writer's pictureEdgar Bagasol Jr.

'I stand out because of my skin.'

Twenty-nine-year-old Financial Advisor Noel Evasco has a skin condition called "vitiligo," and for him, it is what makes him stand out and memorable.

"Growing up as a kid, my skin was totally normal. Pero nung 2016, that’s the time na nakita ko na yung skin changes sa joints ko dito sa kamay. At first, I tried to get rid of it by applying ointments recommended to me by my Dermatologist and for a time, it actually worked. For a week, siguro. Pero nag-start na siyang mag-appear sa ibang parts ng katawan ko. So sabi ko, tatanggapin ko na lang. But it was not easy of course."

"It really affected my confidence kasi nasa sales industry ako eh. You carry your brand and your job is to convince people to buy your product—to trust you. Syempre before, lagi akong nahihiya pag lumalabas. Lagi akong nagsusuot ng long sleeves tsaka pantalon para lang maitago siya. So, it became a struggle for me pero eventually, na-overcome ko siya by looking at it on the positive side; by using my skin condition to my advantage. Because of my skin, I am easily remembered by people. So advantage siya sa career ko kasi you have to be memorable sa client mo."

"Ang vitiligo ay hindi nakakahawa. Hereditary siya and for me, nati-trigger siya dahil sa stress. Kulang sa tulog, madaming iniisip. So, habang nas-stress ako, pumuputi yung skin ko, pero hindi pantay-pantay. Tsaka hindi ako pwedeng magbabad sa araw kasi mas lalong hindi magpa-pantay pantay yung balat ko and worst, baka mag-develop siya to skin cancer. Namana ko siya lolo ko. And sabi nila, yung chance daw na magkaroon ka ng vitiligo is one in every generation and it only occurs every other generation. So, given that statistical possibility, sa akin siya natapat. Siguro iniisip ng iba na ang malas ko naman at sa’kin napunta pero para sa’kin ngayon, I feel lucky to have this kind of skin."

"My skin is what makes me unique; I stand out from the others. Sa tuwing may nagtatanong kung ano siya, kung nasunog daw ba or nabuhusan ng mainit ng tubig or what, it’s either ini-ignore ko lang sila or I try to educate them, especially kung nakikita ko naman na open sila for discussion. Lucky naman talaga ako na wala akong masyadong experience on discrimination when it comes to my skin and I think it’s because I am surrounded by people who are so accepting, na even when they make jokes about my skin, I don’t feel offended. These people helped me regain that confidence I had before and to actually love myself again."

 

Vitiligo is a disease that causes loss of skin color in patches. The discolored areas usually get bigger with time and it can affect the skin on any part of the body. Vitiligo occurs when cells that produce melanin (melanocytes) die or stop functioning. The condition is however not life-threatening or contagious.


Almost one percent of the world’s population has vitiligo. It sometimes runs in families, but the inheritance pattern is complex since multiple causative factors are involved. About one-fifth of people with this condition have at least one close relative who is also affected.


59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page